Skip to main content

Laura Terepocki

​​Education cr​​​edentials

​Dip Psychiatric Nursing

MA Leadership, (enrolled – to finish 2021)

​​Residenc​​​​​e

Maple Ridge, B.C.

Current e​​mp​loyment

Client Care Coordinator, Cottonwood/ Connolly/ Cypress Lodges, Fraser Health Authority​

Years i​​n pra​​​ctice

15 years

Regulatory ​​​expe​​ri​​​e​​nce

• ​Working Group Member — CRPNBC Working Group to create RPN Scope of Practice (2009)

​Other gover​​​nance experi​e​n​​​ce​

• ​Committee Member — Joint Occupational Health and Safety Committee (JOHS), Disaster Management committee (Current appointment) 
  • Participant, Tertiary Screening Committee meetings (Current appointment)
  • Accreditation Team Participant — Cottonwood (2018)
  • Committee Member — JOHS Committee Fraser Regional Correction Centre (2005 – 2010)

Candidate statement​​​​

1. Why do y​​ou want to be a BCCNP Board Member?

I graduated as an Registered Psychiatric Nurse from Douglas College in 2004, and since that time, I have held many different roles and titles during my 15 years practicing as an RPN, including Corrections nursing, acute psychiatry, and tertiary mental health. I have spent the last 6 years in leadership roles at various sites, including SMH MHSU Zone, SMH inpatient psychiatry, an​​d currently at Cottonwood/ Connolly/ Cypress Lodges. I have seen the struggles faced by nurses and have worked to create a safer environment. I participated in the working group at CRPNBC responsible for helping to create the RPN scope of practice document that has since been implemented. I am also a Content Expert for RPNs at NCAS, who is responsible for the assessment of nurses moving to BC or re-entering practice. I believe that there is always room for learning and growth, and am currently working towards my Master of Arts in Leadership at Royal Roads University to help continue to grow and guide my practice. I feel that I can provide a broad view and experience to the BCCNP board. I am eager to suppo